-

DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED

You don't have to let an arrest for D.W.I. ruin your life.  It is vital that you know your rights and what to expect.  What you don't know about your legal rights can hurt you.  Please contact me and we will discuss what needs to be done in order to preserve your rights and get you through this circumstance.

TIME IS OF THE ESSENCE

You have only FIFTEEN (15) DAYS from the date of arrest to request a hearing with the Texas State Office of Administrative Hearings to contest the Texas Department of Public Safety's petition to suspend your driver's license.

The TEXAS PENAL CODE CHAPTER 49 classifies a first offense D.W.I., with a blood or breath test of 0.15 or less, as a Class B Misdemeanor with a minimum term of confinement of 72 hours (or 6 days, if the accused had an open container of alcohol in their immediate possession) up to a maximum term of confinement of 180 days and/or a fine not to exceed $2000.00.

D.W.I can be charged as a Class A Misdemeanor if the accused has previously been convicted of an intoxication offense (with a minimum term of confinement of 30 days), OR if an analysis of a specimen of the persons blood, breath or urine showed an alcohol concentration level of 0.15 or higher at the time the analysis was performed.


A D.W.I. conviction could result in the accused being ordered to pay substantial fines, court costs and probation fees.  You could be ordered to incur the costs of alcohol and/or drug assessments and counseling.  You could even be ordered to serve time in JAIL.

Also, a D.W.I. conviction could carry a requirement that your driver's license be suspended for a period of time up to two (2) years.  In addition, you could be subject to an annual surcharge of at least $1000.00 per year for three (3) years just to keep your drivers license.





Website Builder provided by  Vistaprint